iPad: Opinion


I have a confession, I have an Apple iPad. I didn’t want one, I didn’t need one. They were (are?) overpriced and only 64GB of memory – not nearly enough space! Then I actually was offered to use my friends one when whilst I was visiting him and his family. After only a few hours of use I finally got it. I still think that they are overpriced and an extra £100 for the 3G variant is ludicrous; I however purchased the 64GB 3G variant along with an 02 SIM, Apple Case, Camera connection kit and a dock. Tip – don’t buy the dock its a waste of money IMHO as you have to remove the iPad from the Apple case to use it and that’s easier said then done. As I already have an iPod and iPhone I now have a single cable connected to my iMac that I use to sync and charge the various iDevices.

One benefit of the current range of Apple computers, they provide enough juice from their USB ports that they can charge the iPad, I have not yet seen a PC that can do this.

Back to the story, did my friend have any killer apps on his iPad – No. The bigger screen for browsing the web, reading emails and books is just gorgeous; I know buyer’s remorse and have never had this once. Since buying my own device I have added Zinio for reading my NAPP magazines, purchased some iPad specific photo and bird ID apps and soon I’ll add the OnOne DSLR Camera Remote HD for the iPad when this becomes available later this year. I’m also looking forward to the NAPP Kelby Training App that is “coming soon”.

Also have a look at the stuff that Adobe are looking at releasing.

Finally I give you a link to a story from Macworld here, this opinion written by Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols starts off very well and brings up some very good points. I feel though that the link enjoys a bit fanboi-ish and misses a a couple of points

First Android. The current crop of Android tablets that are coming out soon or have just come out are all shipping with various flavours of Android from 1.6 all the way up to 2.2 (some may even come with 2.3 Gingerbread). Google has stated that Android 3 will be the best version to use for tablets as it has been designed for bigger screens – when that gets released all of the current Android devices could be dead in the water as Google will have revised the recommended specifications by then. If you buy an iPad, Apple will support the device for at least 2 revisions (look at the iPhone, only at version 4 of the ios did the first device get dropped).

Second Windows 7. Although Windows 7 is touch-enabled, how many applications released have been configured for a pointing device as big as your finger as opposed to a few pixels wide-mouse? This is the big problem with Windows 7 based tablets or pads. I just want to say that whilst Windows 7 is a fantastic operating system and is easily the best version yet – it can even do some stuff the Apple’s Snow Leopard cannot – it is a version of windows that has had the touch software added. How about creating a version of the OS based on their current Windows 7 Phone operating system? I am not the only person thinking about this, and whilst they are at it, get rid of the myriad versions of the embedded operating systems that do nothing but confuse matters.

I’ll just finish with a thank you to my friend Gary who introduced me to what I thought was a device that I didn’t need.

