Hartsholme – March 2012

Just over a week ago I visited Hartsholme Park to see if there were any changes to the available wildlife as Spring is a very active time. I also wanted to test my new Nikon 70-200 f2.8 VR II lens on the D3. I have also ordered the Nikon 1.7 Extender II but this didn’t arrive in time for the photo shoot.

I must admit it was a breath of fresh air shooting at f2.8 and ISO 200. The only problem is that I am giving up some of the reach so have to crop heavily, however the amazing sensor of the D3 allows quite a bit of this before degradation.

The most active birds at the moment are the Heron’s they are busy building nests for their young which will be along shortly:

You can see how much I cropped by looking at the full size image below:

There was fierce competition for some of the nesting sites as evidenced by these shots:

Fortunately there were other birds that did allow you to get closer and hence the cropping was less:

The Geese were very vocal as they always are, I noticed this Goose and I couldn’t decide if it was a Greylag or a Canada Goose. Apparently it isn’t unusual to find hybrid Greylag/Canada geese; so this is probably one of them:

Whilst taking pictures there was a rustle in the bushes behind me and I could just see a blackbird in there foraging through the deal leaves. It took some patience on my part but I eventually managed to get a picture of him: