More on learning to use the 70-200mm lens

Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS II USM

A new lens is like nay new tool, you need to learn how to use the lens to get the best out of it. Whilst the lens does come with a manual (on CD these days) which tells you what buttons do what and some of the characteristics of the lens, it does not tell you how to use the lens to photograph every subject that you may come across. The best way to learn is by doing, sure some helpful pointers on techniques can help and thanks to the web these are a lot easier to find than they used to be. I have recently found out why some of my earlier efforts were not too good and have applied some of these techniques.

Last Friday (1st March 2013) was the most recent outing with the lens to see if I could to improve my earlier efforts by employing some of these techniques. I managed about 20 minutes during my lunch break, I couldn’t spend any more time than this as I had to attend a meeting first thing after the lunch break along with the fact that it was (and still is) very cold in Lincoln. So I’m afraid I used the lens with the most abundant (flying) animal at the moment which are the black-headed gulls (BHG) and I apologise for showing more images of them.

The first image of a flying BHG was the following one and is probably one of the best that I have ever taken:
BW2013-03-01-1
The background isn’t as distracting as some of my previous images and the overall blue-ness of it helps the image of the BHG pop out of it.

The second image is of a BHG coming in to land, most of this sequence was in focus and this is my favourite of that sequence:
BW2013-03-01-2

This BHG has just taken off and again I have a sequence of photographs but these aren’t quite as good as some of the other sequences, however this is a nice shot:
BW2013-03-01-4

There were a lot of BHGs flying around and sometimes it looked like some collisions were imminent such as this:
BW2013-03-01-3
Amazingly they didn’t collide and there were no other collisions evident whilst I was out there (I have never seen them collide ever in fact).

Finally I leave you with this nice sharp image of a BHG with its none-winter plumage:
BW2013-03-01-5

I have to say that the more I use the lens, the better the images get, I am getting a lot more keepers now. My only worry is that due to family visits and the miserable weather I haven’t got out much recently. If I wait too long before I get out again I know that my gradual improvement in BIF (Birds in flight) image taking will be affected.

