Zack Arias blogs about the X100s

Zack Arias Post about the X100s
X100s

This morning I was going through the various photographer and tech blogs that I visit regularly and one of them made me chuckle quite a bit. This was by Zack Arias who is a photographer that I have a lot of respect for, he understands the concept of GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) and tries to point out that you don’t need the latest gear to take good pictures.

I don’t want to spoil the post by speaking too much about it, you can read what he wrote here, in fact I recommend that you read his post before you read the rest of this one.

OK – so you read his post first? Are you sure?

I have to agree with his really good analogy to the various manufacturers in the business today and even though I am predominately a Canon shooter, I think that the Fuji is a breath of fresh air. They seem to be trying something new and are not locked into the same position that the big boys Canon and Nikon are; these are companies that I fear are being run by Marketing People who have little interest in actual photography. Time and time again they release products which seem to miss the point, and whilst they do make some excellent products neither of them are thinking outside the box and trying something new. How often have we heard about one of their products that “if only they had done….” it would have been perfect? Whilst I understand that Marketing is an important component especially if you need to remain commercially viable I think that there is scope for them to try something new.

X-Pro-Front

Whilst I no longer own the Fuji X-Pro 1 (I have never tried the X100 or X100s) I do miss the manual controls, the excellent glass and the amazing output from the X-Trans sensor; the fact that the in-camera JPEG conversion was the best out there and the optical/electronic hybrid viewfinder. Do I regret selling it? Not really, as good as this camera is, it is not really suited for (action) Wildlife Photography which is what I really enjoy doing. If funds allowed me to keep the camera then I would have kept it but I needed this camera less than the funds it released to enable me to pursue may main passion. Unfortunately Wildlife Photography requires a good camera/lens combo to get the shots you want with good image quality.

Shot with Fuji X-Pro 1 & 60mm f/2.4 Macro lens at 1/50s f/2.4 ISO 3200

Shot with Fuji X-Pro 1 & 60mm f/2.4 Macro lens at 1/50s f/2.4 ISO 3200

I still require to extend my collection of glass in a few areas and would also like to expand my off-camera flash capability so these come first. Finally, I might need to purchase a suitable laptop computer for a course I and starting in November.

