Where is the Lightroom update for the Fujifilm X-T1?

adobe

Just over a month ago (Feb 21st), Adobe issued a release candidate version of Adobe Camera Raw for Photoshop; normally there is also a simultaneous release of a Lightroom version too. We didn’t get one on that date and all thought at the time never mind it will be out in a few more days – this has not happened and Adobe have been erringly quite on the subject.

I am particularly interested in this version as it allows me to edit my Fujifilm X-T1 RAW (*.RAF) files and additionally provides the Fujifilm camera profiles as it has been doing for Canon/Nikon users for many years now.

This is also affecting other users of new cameras such as the Nikon D4s users, you can see my blog post about the cameras that will be supported in the next update here.

However, whilst we await the next release (hopefully Adobe are using this time to really sort out the remaining issues with their Fujifilm demosaicing algorithm), there appear to be two workarounds, neither of these are ideal.

Workaround 1:
You modify the Exif date of your X-T1 files. The reasoning behind this idea is that the X-T1 shares exactly the same X-Trans II sensor as the Fujifilm X-E2; this camera is already supported in Lightroom 5 so if you can fool Lightroom into thinking the X-T1 files are in fact X-E2 files it will open them and allow the editing to take place. Lightroom reads the Exif data from any RAW file imported and uses this work work out how to view and edit the file; one of the enrtries (or fields) in this data is for Camera make and model.

You can read this blog here for information on how to do this (unfortunately the software mentioned is Mac only). 😦

The fact that I don’t have access to or own a Mac coupled with the fact that this is not something I really want to do anyway means that this option is of no use to me.

Workaround 2:
The fact that there is a Camera Raw release candidate that supports the Fujifilm X-T1 means that you can use this, but you don’t use the Camera Raw plugin/filter but instead use the DNG converter to create DNG versions of all of the Fujifilm RAF files.

I don’t consider this ideal either, maybe if I was using a DNG based workflow this might have been an option I would have considered. The other issue is that I will have to install a piece of beta software onto my computer and I don’t know what (if any) the implications will be when the non-beta software is released and needs installing.

However, if using beta software does not scare you and DNG files are not a problem you could use this option, see Jared Polin (aka FrowKnowsFoto)’s video below on how to do this – he is using a Mac and is doing this for his Nikon D4s but the principle is the same:

Mystery Workaround 3:
Adobe just release the d**n update for Lightroom that has been in the Camera Raw release candidate since February! As stated before we don’t normally have to wait this long, this is not the usual state of affairs for Adobe.

If I was a working pro and needed to work on the RAW files from my X-T1 I would have had to investigate these options but for now I am prepared to wait. I also don’t have my X-T1 at the moment as it is with Fujifilm UK having its light-leak issue fixed so this gives Abode a little bit more time to sort this.

To overcome the issue with that fact that I cannot access the RAW files (that I have already shot with the X-T1) in Lightroom 5 I have been using the JPG files – I forgot how little you can do with them before they fall apart 😦