Fuji X-E1 and 50-230mm around the Brayford

Fuji X-E1 Body (no lens)

Whilst my X-T1 was with Fujifilm having its light-leak issue repaired I have been using my X-E1 over the last two weeks so I though I would create a couple of posts about using that camera with the 50-230mm f4.5-f6.7 lens (this post) as well as the 60mm f2.4 macro lens too.

I have to say that whilst the X-E1 is not in the same league as the X-T1, it did perform admirably with no issues. I should also say that the XC 50-200mm lens is better than most “budget” lenses that I have used in the past.

All of these pictures were taken around the Brayford Wharf at the west side of Lincoln City. I am fortunate that the building that I work in has its main entrance on the Brayford and there is usually some wildlife activity taking place. Whilst this is predominately Mute Swans there are also other birds from Mallard and Muscovy Ducks to Moorhens and Feral Pigeons. A couple of weeks ago I also saw a single Canada Goose last week which is the first and last time I have seen one here; typically this was on a day where I did not have my camera with me.

The pictures below unfortunately show nothing unusual but do show that the X-E1 can take wildlife photos; the reach of the 50-230mm lens was also useful and has another 30mm (equivalent to a 45mm FOV on a 35mm full-frame sensor) over the more expensive and faster 55-200mm f3.5-4.8 XF lens. Both lenses have Fujifilm’s very good OIS (Optical Image Stabilisation) technology incorporated though.

As I approached the pool from the office, noticed this swan asleep in the middle of the pool:
2014-04-XE1BF-4

Here is an adolescent swan that is nearly 1 year old, it could be one of the ones I was watching last year, you can see the last post I made about them here:
2014-04-XE1BF-1

Here you can see the adult swan, notice that there are no brown feathers:
2014-04-XE1BF-2

There is a small island in the Brayford pool that has a beautiful Willow tree situated on it:
2014-04-XE1BF-3

The second most common bird in the pool were the Mallard ducks, they seem to be predominately male birds, this one was swimming around:
2014-04-XE1BF-6

After he got bored swimming he decide to jump onto part of the old swing bridge:
2014-04-XE1BF-5

My final picture is of a swan feeding, I like the reflection in this one:
2014-04-XE1BF-7

I was really impressed by the performance of the X-E1 and whilst not as good as the X-T1 or any performance DSLR it held its own and wasn’t a hindrance to getting the available photo opportunities on the pool.