The Fuji X-E1, 60mm Macro and 2 flowers

XF60mmF2.4_R_Macro_Len_2d818a80df

My previous post talked about how I was using the X-E1 with the 50-230mm lens whilst my X-T1 was being repaired. This post is about using the X-E1 again but this time with the 60mm f2.4 macro lens.

I wanted to try this combo for macro photography now that spring is finally here and a lot of the dormant plants are now flowering again. As is usual with this kind of photography you are better off using manual focus (particularly with such a slow focusing lens such as the XF60mm). You set your focus at the minimum distance (don’t forget to put the camera into macro mode) and then move the camera back and forth until the subject of the photo is in focus and then lightly press the trigger to take the shot. Macro photography requires a different discipline compare to standard wildlife photography as auto-focus is rarely used and the working depth of field goes from metres to millimetres.

You will need to keep an eye on the shutter speed to so that camera shake isn’t an issue (I don’t have very steady hands). This is a lot easier than a DSLR (with or without grip) and macro lens as there is a lot less weight to worry about, the disadvantage is that there are no dedicated macro flash guns (both Nikon and Canon have some very nice options in their arsenal with a wide range of Macro lenses too).

I took a lot of shots and getting them sharp took a lot of patience as it was quite a windy day that meant that the plants and flowers were stationary for only short periods of time. However, I eventually managed to get a few shots before the wind became too much of an obstacle.

Thee following two photographs are the best of the day and whilst they look large, the actual flower is only between 1 and 2 cm big. I am not 100% sure what flower this is but I think it is a member of the “daisy” family (possibly a member of the Osteospermum family). If I do find a definitive name I will update this post.

2014-04-XE1BF-8

2014-04-XE1BF-9