The Fujifilm Buying Process

logo_2006_01
When purchasing your Fujifilm X-series product there seems to be a standard process to follow:

Step 1: Buy item from your supplier of choice.
Step 2: Update Firmware.
Step 3: Register item on Fujifilm’s website.
Step 4: Fill in relevant promotion form for cash-back and/or free lens.
Step 5: Complain that Adobe aren’t doing enough to a) support your camera and b) that their demosaicing algorithms aren’t good enough (green leaves mush phenomenon).

This was just a quick post showing that there are 2 constants in the world of Fujifilm, one of them is that Fujifilm nearly always have promotions running (I have made use of 5 of them since and I re-joined the Fujifilm community – see below) and the products usually need the latest firmware updates.

The promotions that I have made use of so far:

  • Purchased X-Pro1 with XF 18mm f2.0 R lens and got the XF 60mm f2.4 R Macro lens for free
  • Purchased the XF 35mm F1.4 R lens and XF 14mm F2.8 lens and got £300 cash-back
  • Used a £50 off voucher when I purchased the XF 14mm lens
  • Purchased the X-E1 with XF18-55mm F2.8-4 OIS LM R Lens and got the XC50-230mm f4.5-6.7 OIS lens for free
  • Purchased the X-E2 with XF18-55mm F2.8-4 OIS LM R Lens and I am getting the XF55-230mm f4.5-6.7 OIS lens for free

So that’s 3 free lenses and £300 back in my pocket; not too bad 🙂

I have all the latest firmware updates and apart from the missing expanded exposure bracketing that I would like I am quite happy.

Adobe have just released a Release Candidate version of Camera Raw that fixes problems with the X-T1 raw files that used certain settings (DR >100%) which I have never used. Why do we get Camera Raw Release Candidates an no longer get Lightroom Release Candidates? There you see I am complaining.

