Brayford Swans update

After Friday’s great photo opportunities, I decided to visit the Precarious SwanTM to see if there had been any development. Unfortunately although the swan was present there were no sign of any eggs or cygnets (newly hatched or otherwise). It was another great day so I carried on around the Brayford pool; in fact I walked the circumference culminating in crossing University Bridge before I went back into my office building.

As I walked around I noticed a nest that I hadn’t seen before and although it was quite obscured I did manage a photo or two. There were two adult Mute swans as well as 4 cygnets and an egg, they were all preening themselves (except the egg of course although that would have been clever 🙂 ). Here they are resting after a full preening session:
2016-06-06-BWS-1

I also noticed two Muscovy ducks, one under part of the walkway (almost like a Troll under a bridge) and one on the footpath next to an adult swan:
2016-06-06-BWS-2

They were both in the shade, maybe getting out of the sun; it was a very warm and sunny day (until about 2.30PM when it was very dark, wet and stormy).

I am sure there will be more from the Brayford, I am interested in seeing the Precarious SwanTM‘s eggs and then cygnets when they hatch.

Update: All photographs taken with a Fujifilm X-E2 and Fujinon XF18-55mm f/2.8-4 R LM OIS Lens.