Fujifilm UK issues emails about vouchers for 18-135mm lens

No sooner than I pasted a comment on Fujirumors about the new Fujinon XF 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 R LM OIS WR lens I received an email from Fujifilm UK:

Fuji £250 off voucher email

OK it’s not the voucher but Fujifilm just setting expectations; interestingly the voucher still has an August 31st expiry date. Either the lens will be available in large stocks (unlikely) and/or will be available in early July. Rico Pfirstinger who has been testing the lens for Fuji did have this to say in reply to the question:

Q: I hope now that the 18-135mm will be sold beginning of July as a kit with the new X-T1P!

A: (from Rico), I very much doubt this. Fuji expects demand to exceed availability, so a kit offer will certainly be in the cards, but not initially.

So I have already visited the Lincoln High Street LCE store and pre-ordered the lens, the manager has been told that the RRP of the new lens is £750 but expects to sell it for £700 which is what the Fuji Rep said it would be sold for only last week.

I have been in the position before where there is a time-limited special deal or time-limited voucher that has run out simply because I could find the relevant item in stock anywhere. Not this time!