Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 SP Di VC USD Lens – First Impressions

Tamron_SP70-300mm_USD_VC

After visiting the Silver Street LCE on Monday I decided to try out the High Street store on the Tuesday as they have a good range of Tamron and Sigma 3rd Party lenses. I noticed that they stock the Tamron 70-300 VC lens as well as the Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 lens (more on that lens in another post).

Just like their Silver Street Store I was allowed to try the lens on my EOS 70D too. I have to just quickly say that both of the LCE stores in Lincoln go the extra mile when you want to try something out.

So the Tamron lens is a third of the cost of the Canon 70-300 L lens (£299), is the Canon lens therefore 3 times better? The short answer is no. I liked the feel of the Tamron, granted it wasn’t metal but the plastic was of a high grade, this also benefited a reduction in weight which is something I always appreciate. I could not see any difference in the Tamron’s Vibration Control (VC) or Canon’s Image Stabilisation (IS) either in the operation or the speed of activation. I did not compare the sound which was inaudible in the shop so cannot be that bad.

Like my previous first impressions review of the Canon 70-300L lens I will not show you the test shots as they are equally boring too. Suffice to say I couldn’t see any optical difference in the photo’s; maybe if I shot a test chart in exactly the same lighting conditions there may be a difference. If anything the Tamron’s photos seemed to be better. You also have to remember that I am testing these two lenses on a crop-sensor body so there may be greater differences when tested and compared on a full frame (35mm sized sensor) camera.

I am glad that I waited to try out the Tamron as this represents a massive £600 saving, I will certainly be adding this to my arsenal and will retire the 100-300mm lens; I won’t sell it as it isn’t worth a great deal and it may come in handy one day.

You can read more about the lens and its features here.