Nikon D750 – first thoughts

D750_24_120_front.high

As is usual for a Monday lunchtime my friend Mike and I went to our favourite coffee shop in Lincoln (Caffe Nero). Afterwards we popped into the Silver Street London Camera Exchange Store to see if there was anything new to see or newly added to their second-hand selection. Whilst in there they asked me if I had seen the Nikon D750 and as they weren’t busy I asked if I could have a quick go to see what it fleet like in the hand.

D800-Front

They pointed out that it was very light and after a few “it’s light” phrases from all concerned I had the camera placed into my hands. For comparison I was also given a D800; and it was lighter but not that much lighter; in fact the weight difference is only 150g (900g for the D800 vs 750g for the D750). They asked if I would like to try it with a lens (I plumped for the AFS Nikkor 24-70mmm f/2.8G ED lens), I have to say that they balanced nicely although I preferred the grip on the D800.

I noticed that the shutter release button was very light and didn’t take much pressure to trip the shutter, at first I wasn’t aware that the noise was the shutter going because it was so quiet! I thought that it was the aperture closing on the lens – in the past the aperture blades on certain Nikon lenses were very audible when closing. I was impressed it was so quiet.

I was also very impressed in how fast and silent the focusing was too once I remembered how to select between the various focusing modes and group settings. I also had to switch the exposure mode to Aperture Priority too instead of the Dummy Program mode which IMHO has no place on a camera like this. The final thing that jumped out at me was the monochrome settings view on the tilting screen on the rear of the camera, it’s only a small change but it is better, Mike exclaimed I can read that without my glasses.

I have to say that if I was in the market for a full-frame nikon this would be at the top of the list. I’m not sure if it was Nikon’s intent but this is going to kill the sales of the D610 this camera is so much better and at £1799 is only £450 more (the D610 is currently £1349) and as the introductory price starts to erode will only close this gap.

Nikon 610 with 24-85mm lens

I initially thought that basing the D750 on the D610/D7100 chassis was a bad idea – now I think it was the right decision as the camera feels solid in the hands and the really bright viewfinder was astonishingly good even though this viewed through a rectangular eyepiece (I would have preferred the round one form the D800 but it’s only a minor niggle).

Now as I write this post I wish I had a memory card that I could have tried in the camera so as to review the shots and check out the resolution, maybe another day.

Finally, because the shop went on about how light the camera was I asked if I could compare this with a Sony A7 with lens. Dave got the A7 with 28-70mm lens out from the window and it was night and day. The A7 and lens combo seemed so tiny compared to the D750 even though they have very similar sensors. The big difference was the weight, the A7 and lens weighs only 769g (474g for the A7 and 295g for the lens), just 19g more than the D750 body alone; the 24-70mm f2.8 lens weights 900g! yes I know that this is a bit of an apples to oranges comparison but there is a massive difference in size. And yes the D750 has a much better AF system, dual card slots and the Nikkor lens system too.

Sony A7 Body

So although the D750 is a cracking full-frame camera that is in its class is smaller and lighter than the rest, it isn’t much lighter than the Sony A7 series cameras especially when you throw lenses into the equation.