First Look at Canon G7 X

PowerShot G7 X FRA
Today as I walked past the Silver Street London Camera Exchange store I noticed that they had a box for the new Canon “Powershot G7 X”, I have to say I’ll be happy when the camera manufacturers stop feeling the need to insert the letter “X” in their camera names; it’s starting to become a bit stale. I also noticed how similar this name is to the Panasonic Lumix GX7 – its not confusing is it🙂

So I popped in and asked if I could have a go of the new model, this is the first time I saw the camera in the flesh (or is that metal). First impressions were that this model was a hybrid between the Powershot X series of cameras and the Powershot S series. It had a nice solid feeling and all of the controls seemed logicalcally placed – I like the fact that we get a mode dial.

The “big” feature of this model it has a large 1″ sensor just like Sony’s RX100 and RX10 cameras. It also has a “flippy” screen that allows the photographer to take selfies:
PowerShot G7 X FSL Flash Up LCD Up 180

There was also a control wheel around the lenses throat that can be used to adjust exposure or other camera settings; however, as you turn the wheel you hear a mechanical clicking noise. The wheel doesn’t spin quickly you need to use a bit of force to rotate the ring. Did I say that the clicking noise is very annoying? You couldn’t use the camera and use the control wheel in a quiet environment – bad decision Canon!

The other big issue that I have with the camera is that it is simply too small. I don’t have the biggest hands in the world but I had a real problem trying to come up with a grip that allowed you to firmly hold the camera and not have part of your hand rest on one of more of the rear buttons.

PowerShot G7 X Beauty 05

As you can see from the picture above, the rear thumb-rest is flush with the buttons so doesn’t help much. So all in all Canon have released a 1″ sensor model but there are too many things that I don’t like.

Canon did price the G7 X quite competitively at £580 which is firmly between Sony’s similar RX100 models, the RX100-MkII is £489 and the RX100-MkIII is £699. The RX100-MkIII does however come with a viewfinder. The G7 X comes off as a “me too” product. Did I say that the clicking noise of the lens control wheel was annoying?