3 days to OM-D-Day

10608698_344769629016850_7580067582299567266_o

There are now only 3 days remaining until this year’s LCE Photo and Optics show, I have already written a couple of posts about this and you can read them here and here or you could go to the official LCE Photo and Optics web page here.

As already stated I will be picking up my OM-D E-M1 Camera with the 12-40mm f2.8 PRO lens at the show. Dave (the manager of the Silver Street store) has also been working with Olympus to try and get me one of the (yet to be available) 40-150mm f2.8 PRO lens and 1.4x tele-converter kits so that I can use the £150 cash-back offer on the lens. It was meant to be available in November but the date has slipped to earlier December. I know that I am number 2 on the list with the store but like the guy at position 1 I have placed a deposit to secure my own lens.

OM-D E-M1 Top2

It’s at times like these that you have to notice that the local stores can provide a service above and beyond what an Internet retailer can achieve. This is why I always try and use the local store when purchasing photographic equipment. Support your local store if you have one, they need sales to remain open and using them to try gear before purchasing form other places is not the best way to operate. This is the same store (in conjunction with their High street store) that plans and operates shows such as this and if they were gone so would the these type of events.

Fortunately, I will be able get a free HLD7 camera grip for the E-M1 direct from Olympus.

EZ M4015

So whilst I am mostly excited about picking up my new camera I am also looking forward to playing with some of the other Olympus optics that I have not had chance to use before including the aforementioned 40-150mm f2.8 PRO and the tele-converter. I would also like to try out some of the other Olympus accessories as well as their TTL flash gear. Finally (staying with Olympus) there will representation from not only Olympus but also Damian McGillicuddy too and I have a couple of questions that I would like to ask. Damian will also be running two 40 minute Portrait Photography sessions at the “Live Arena” at 2PM and 5PM and this will be the first time I see Damian in action (aside his YouTube appearances).

Away from Olympus there will also be lots of other things to see and do, the Live Arena will also have various presentations and demonstrations from Canon, Manfrotto, Sony and Lastolite and I look forward to seeing these too.

On the subject of other photographic manufacturers and distributors there isn’t much I have not seen yet. However there is a short “things to see” list I have created and so far only the Canon 7D-MkII, the Sony A7s and the Panasonic GH4 spring to mind. Granted the GH4 has been out for a while but I have not had the chance to see or play with one yet and it will probably feel identical to the GH3, the same goes for the A7s which will probably feel identical to the A7 and A7R which I have tried. I would have been more interested in the Canon EOS 7D-II if it had been released a few years ago (instead of the 5 years we have waited); so I am merely curious now as I have no interest in owning one of them. The Canon and Nikon DSLR gear is simply too heavy and bulky for me nowadays.

Along with the big names there will be some of the smaller companies too so there is a chance to see something new too.

I am also looking to see if I can find that elusive perfect camera bag as a lot of the camera bag suppliers will be present too. I know that there is no such thing as the perfect camera bag but I need something that will hold a gripped E-M1 as well as the new PRO lenses with some space for a few other items as well.

I have been to most of the Photo and Optics shows in the past and this one looks like it could be the best one yet.

A few days after the show I hope to post one of more entries about what I thought about the show along with some first days/weeks as an OM-D E-M1 owner.