LL first look at Samsung NX1

NX1_01_LARGE-0
One of the most interesting cameras at Photokina this year was the Samsung NX1, this APS-C sensor sized camera seems to including everything including the proverbial kitchen sink. This is the only recent camera release that I have not had a go of (apart from the Leica T series) but as neither of my local stores stock any Samsung gear it is unlikely I will get to see one in the near future. Also looking at the price of the camera I don’t see this appearing at the stores that normally do stock Samsung gear such as PC World or Currys for example.

However, a few of the various photographic based web sites out there have managed to get a hold of some of the initial production level camera bodies and lenses to give people like me an idea of what to expect. One of the better ones is the Luminous Landscape and the founder – Michael Reichmann – has posted his first thoughts on the camera here.

Michael has even posted a few images taken with the camera including some high ISO shots, I recommend that you give this a read. Samsung have clearly been thinking outside the box and if they can get the marketing sorted out and start to really talk to the photographic retailers and some of the pro photographers could be a force to be reckoned with. They have the money and they seem to understand how to make good bodies and glass and they are not hindered by other manufacturers as they make their own sensors too.

I will be going to next year’s Photography Show at the NEC in March next year and hopefully Samsung will decide to be there (they are not on the exhibitors list at the moment) and I will get a chance to have a go with the NX1.

You can read a more at Samsung’s site here.

You can pre-order the NX1 from WEX Photographic for £1299 here. There is also a “pro” kit that includes the body, lens, battery grip, second battery and charger but this does not seem to be available in the UK at the moment.

What do I think? Well I have invested into the MFT (Micro Four Thirds) system at the moment and I am very happy with the quality of images I get and the overall “bulk” or lack thereof so won’t be switching. If I wasn’t invested I would give this a serious consideration but I suspect that even though it is an APS-C sensor sized system it still might be too heavy for me – but I won’t know for sure until I can handle one. Maybe one of local LCE stores will stock them next year?