SeaWorld – April 2016

2016-04-12-SW-5

This is the second of my blog posts about my trip to Orlando, you can read the previous one about Busch Gardens here.

This post shows some of my favorite pictures from both visits to SeaWorld; I used my DSLR camera on and off throughout the day on our first visit during the first week of our holiday and for the entire morning of the second trip (second week) whilst Louise, Simon and Jack visited Aquatica.

Pictures from the first visit (6th April)
After trying out the Manta ride (similar to what “Air” was in Alton Towers before it was changed into Galactica) a few times we ventured around the park to see an Animal show and tell.

The first was what looked like an Owl but isn’t called a Tawny Frogmouth, an unusual looked bird:
2016-04-06-SW-1

The second animal was more obvious, a Common Green Iguana, he (she?) liked being the centre of attention:
2016-04-06-SW-2

During the day we visited the Shark Encounter attraction, the highlight of which is walking through a translucent tunnel being surrounded by sharks. At one point there is a large set of Jaws form a great white shark, a perfect photo opportunity, Jack of course could not resist. Unfortunately I picked far too low a shutter speed so I have played with this a bit in Lightroom (not one of my best shots):
2016-04-06-SW-3

Like we have black headed gulls in the UK, Florida has a lot of Snowy Egrets around, here is one of them:
2016-04-06-SW-4

Here is one of my favourite shots of the holiday (already seen on Facebook), it’s Jack looking in awe at the Manta Rays – his favourite animal I think.
2016-04-06-SW-5

And here he is a few minutes later trying to feed them with small (dead) fishes you can buy, after this we called him “fish-boy” due to the smell he picked up thanks to his tee-shirt getting soaked from that pool:
2016-04-06-SW-6

Pictures from the second visit (12th April)
On the second day I was on my own for the morning so I managed to get around the park to photograph the animals at my own pace. In addition to going on the Sky Tower I took a lot of photographs and here are my favourites:

At some point of the day I noticed that there were many House Sparrows flying around, they all seemed to be nest building, here is one of them that paused flying allowing me to take this photo:
2016-04-12-SW-2

A better (closer) photo of a Snowy Egret:
2016-04-12-SW-4

In addition to the Snowy Egrets, there were also a number of Wood Storks too:
2016-04-12-SW-3

And like the common sighting (even in the UK) of the sparrow above, there were also grey squirrels running about the area (can’t resist a squirrel picture):
2016-04-12-SW-8

Like Busch Gardens,there are large numbers of birds in the park like this Hooded Merganser:
2016-04-12-SW-9

My final picture of the (half) day was of this terrapin:
2016-04-12-SW-10

Just after mid-day we all met up back at SeaWorld entrance and after a spot of lunch we did some more rides, saw a show or too, did the Sky Tower together and had a great day!

One thought on “SeaWorld – April 2016

Comments are closed.